Steering Committee

A Steering Committee (up to six members) consists of senior Scientists with recognized research programs and general knowledge in areas relevant to adult stem cell and regenerative medicine research. The membership represents multiple institutions and they are assisted as needed by expert consultants. Their role is to conduct peer review needed to ensure scientific excellence, establish funding priorities and develop new ways to propel research in adult stem cell and regenerative medicine. The terms of the steering committee are staggered.

The following individuals currently serve on the OCASCR Steering Committee:

  • Jerry R. Malayer, Ph.D., Professor of Physiological Sciences and Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Education, Oklahoma State University Center for Veterinary Health Sciences
  • Lorin Olson, Ph.D., Associate Member, Cardiovascular Biology Research Program, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
  • William E. Sonntag, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; OU Health Science Center
  • Bruce Benjamin, Ph.D., TSET appointee; Associate Professor of Physiology, Vice Provost for Graduate Programs, and Interim Vice President for Research, Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences